The Perception

April 26, 2010

Cornbread n Jazz in Elkhart, Indiana.

Filed under: Opinion,Poetry — Zorina @ 7:27 am
Tags: ,

I had the amazing opportunity to not only attend the Cornbread n Jazz this past weekend but also got a chance to participate as a spoken word artist there at the Historic Roosevelt Center in Elkhart, Indiana.

Familiar with the venue having been there two months ago directing and performing in the 3rd annual Michiana Monologues, I pretty much thought I knew what to expect: a little bit of poetry and singing…cool!  I am always up for an open mic.  For the most part, I was right but what I didn’t expect was a short play, the wide array vendors showcasing their talent, and the smell of black-eyed peas and cornbread!

Yes, some people sang, some people recited poetry, they even cracked a few jokes.  Some people just shared their ministry or mission of visiting Haiti.  Others celebrated their victory from illness.  Then there were just some people who came to watch.

Cornbread n Jazz is rich in culture.  Most importantly it is rich with talent and well-organized;  not just on stage but behind the scenes as well.  As I would like to mention names, I do not think it would be fair simply because I understand how many people it takes to organize a successful show.  So I say “Bravo” to everyone involved with planning and organizing Cornbread n Jazz this past weekend.  I look forward to the next one!

Join Cornbread n Jazz on Facebook!  http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cornbread-n-Jazz/122296798584

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.